Indian team for the ODI Series against Sri Lanka was announced by the BCCI on Sunday and as expected lines were the exclusion of Struggling batsman Yuvraj Singh dropped from India’s limited overs squad and young Manish Pandey returns to the squad.

Karnataka batsman Manish Pandey, who recently led the India A squad to a tri-series win in South Africa, made a comeback to the team.

The Selectors have also given rest to four senior bowlers, including pace duo of Mohammed Shami and Umesh Yadav along with leading spinners R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja.

Young paceman Shardul Thakur also made a comeback to the team. Senior Pacer Jasprit Bumrah has also been included in the 15-man squad for the ODI and Twenty20 series.

The selectors have gone in with a young spinner’s – Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal with Axar Patel to support them. Among others, those who have missed the cut are Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik.

Suresh Raina too has been overlooked by the selectors. KL Rahul is likely to open the innings with Shikhar Dhawan after recovering from his injury.

The five-match ODI series will begin on Sunday. India’s tour of Sri Lanka will conclude with second Twenty20 in Colombo on September 6

Indian Squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma (vice captain), KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Ajinkya Rahane, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shardul Thakur.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here