WhatsApp has officially rolled out a new update to delete sent messages feature for the first time globally for Android, iOS, and Windows users. It lets people delete sent messages, including media within seven minutes of sending them.
After a message has been deleted users will see a notification saying “this message was deleted” in place of the original message. Both users require the latest version of WhatsApp on iOS or Android for the delete message function to work.
The feature is quite useful when it comes to recalling messages that contain a mistake, have been accidentally sent or were meant for someone else. It works for an individual as well as group chats.
WhatsApp ‘Delete for Everyone’ is easy to use. Just keep in mind you can recall messages within seven minutes, and no longer than that. Both recipient and sender will get a notification when messages get successfully deleted. However, people won’t be notified if deleting message for everyone was unsuccessful. In this case, the receiver might see or read your message.
How to Delete WhatsApp Sent messages?
- Make sure you have the latest version of WhatsApp for iOS or Android, you can find this in the App Store or Google Play Store
- Open WhatsApp and go to the chat with the message you want to delete within seven minutes of sending
- Tap and hold the message. You can also tap multiple messages to delete more than one
- Tap the Delete icon at the top of the screen > tap Delete for Everyone
- Everyone on your chat will see the message: “This message was deleted” – so you may still have some explaining to do
“Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats (*). Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone,” read WhatsApp blog post.
WhatsApp’s ‘Delete for everyone’ was anticipated for quite some time now. The Facebook-owned company was previously testing the feature, and it was said to remotely enable it for users. Deleting message for everyone should come as a relief to people who have a habit of mistakenly sending messages to wrong contacts when in a hurry.