Ashish Nehra, Dinesh kathik Are in For T20 Series vs Australia

Indian selectors named veteran left-arm pacer Ashish Nehra in the 15-member squad to play in the three-match Twenty20 International series against Australia cricket team.

The selectors named the squad at the end of the ODI series. It also included opener Shikhar Dhawan, who missed the one-dayers to attend to his ailing wife and Selectors have once again ignored Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja.

The selectors decided to drop Ajinkya Rahane, who struck four back-to-back half centuries, in the just-concluded ODI series as his game is not considered to be suitable for the shortest format.

The selectors have also called up Dinesh Karthik in the side though MS Dhoni has been named as the wicketkeeper.

Dinesh Karthik was an injury replacement at the ICC Champions Trophy in June and then travelled with the team to the West Indies for a limited-overs series.

ALSO READ: Sachin Tendulkar Gifted Virender Sehwag a BMW 730 Ld Car Worth Rs 1.14 Crore

The 38-year-old Nehra’s comeback may have surprised a few but the kind of faith and respect he enjoys in the Indian dressing room is second to none. He has so far played 25 T20 Internationals taking 34 wickets in them.

The matches will be played in Ranchi (Oct 7, Guwahati (Oct 10) and Hyderabad (Oct 13).

T20 Squad:

Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Axar Patel.





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here