One of the most Popular messaging service WhatsApp’s recent update of ‘Delete for everyone’ feature might have disappointed people who have sent message inadvertently.

A new report claims that WhatsApp messages that are deleted are actually still on the device and can be easily accessed.

According to a Spanish Android blog, Android Jefe, there is still a way around this feature and deleted messages on the device can still be accessed. Users running Android 7.0 Nougat or higher version can simply download a third-party app called Notification History to read deleted messages.

Here Are The Steps To Read Deleted WhatsApp Messages:

The Spanish Android blog explains that anyone can access deleted WhatsApp messages sent to them via a third-party app named Notification History which can be downloaded via Google Play.

After downloading the app, users will have to search the message in the Android notification log. Those users who are using third-party launchers like Nova Launcher it’s even easier.

The notification log can be accessed without the need of an additional app. Long press the home screen, then tap on Widgets > Activities > Settings > Notification log. You can then access the system’s notification log.

On stock Android, a Settings widget can give access to the notification log as well.

ALSO READ: WhatsApp New Feature ‘Delete For Everyone’ is Trending Now

Gadgets 360 tried both the Notification History third-party app and the Activities method described above and discovered that the trick worked on an Android device.

“What we found is that the messages are stored in the notification register of the Android system. So, it’s just a matter of entering that record to see the messages that the other person deleted. The Notification History application is a shortcut to that record,” the post reads.

The report also suggests that apart from the fact that only deleted text message can be viewed; the blog post says that only the first 100 characters of the message will be visible to users.

Moreover, the messages are stored for few hours on the device and are deleted if users restart their device. Although, it is unclear if a similar hack is available on iOS.

Comments

0 comments

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here